Love, Laughter, and Life

Adventures With a Book Lover

I’m One of Them!

Leave a comment

now the cap is where it belongs

now the cap is where it belongs

It’s true. I’ve joined the “Look at that! I can’t believe they did that? Honestly, who forgets that?” group. And if my son finds out, I’m gonna be on his list…
Set the scene: midnight, last leg of the trip home from the Tacoma area, HOT (still almost 90), driving because it’s cooler at night (??? serioiusly, 90’s are better than 100’s if there is no AC in the vehicle, right?), the gas gage is hovering between 1/4 of a tank and the red zone…
The question: Do I stop and do a quick fill, or just head over the 3 humps and pray the gas holds…Do I really want to sit in the dark (with an empty gas tank) waiting for family members to notice I am not there (and can’t call because there is no reception on those hills)?
Solution: Ok, quick stop at the truck stop for $10 of gas to make it home.
Just in case some of you have never been at a truck stop at midnight, it’s kind of weird. And hot. Did I say how hot it was? The station had these special lights that attracted thousands of moths (I AM NOT overexaggerating). The ground was crunchy with carcasses, while the rest circled clueless as to their fate, banging against the lights. Before I even got out of the rig, they were swarming. Ick. I dashed in, paid my money, and went out…to fight the moths landing on everything. I flicked them out of my hair, off the truck, away from the gas tank..As I stood there, I thought, really, they need a few bat houses here or a ginormous bug zapper. But I’d rather they go natural with some bats.
So, as I watched the ten bucks disappear into the tank (let’s NOT talk about gas prices), I observed suicidal moths, the lack of gas receipt, the moths in my face…when the pump quit, I put the hose away, zipped in the caballero, and headed out asap – mind you, talking to myself, wishing they had bug catchers or something, and asking how could I get a receipt if I paid cash…it’s the simple things that escape me in the middle of my mind, I mean night, like forgetting how to go in and ask for a receipt. Debit cards are much easier.
Fast forward 35 minutes and I was pulling into the carport in Yakima. I got out of the vehicle and started unloading my junk…And I noticed the gas tank was open. Weird, I didn’t remember not shutting it. Then I looked closer, and not even the gas cap was on! Gasp! Oh, no, Taylor is going to kill me…where is it…Not laying in the back where I place it when I put gas in the tank. Oh, relief, there it is, rolled up to the front of the pickup bed. Quick, before anyone notices, screw on the gas cap and close the door.
Uh, did I just drive all the way from Ellensburg with my tank wide open??? What a space…I can no longer wonder how people can drive off with the gas hoses still attached or forget their drink on top of their car or leave the gas cap dangling…I’m one of them. Just a moment of distraction, and too many moths, yes, I’ll blame them…
Whew. Good thing it was dark and no one could see what I did.

Author: Angie

I live with my husband and two crazy kitties. I love having my grandchildren nearby so we can play and have messy fun. I spend oodles of time writing and reading. You can usually find me sipping tea or coffee, nibbling on dark chocolate, and contemplating what to plant next in the garden. If I am not playing, eating, drinking, or planting, then I am probably creating cards with rubber stamps or out snapping photos with my camera.

Leave a Reply

