Love, Laughter, and Life

Adventures With a Book Lover

The Good Ol Days

Leave a comment

The good old days...Help yourself. Just put your money in the box.

The good old days...Help yourself. Just put your money in the box.

There’s hope. I found it. Just about 5 miles away, in the middle of many orchards, there it was.

I’m so tired of negative news and bad reports and ugly things happening to people. And not so nice people being ugly to their fellow humans. Am I alone is saying, that’s enough garbage? Can I please have some good news (and maybe less mud slinging campaigning please) in the paper and on TV? Maybe that’s why I don’t watch and never seem to know current news. It’s depressing. It’s like looking at grafitti. In our area, if someone does beautiful landscaping or freshly paints buildings, even as I enjoy the new touches, there is a niggle of ‘man, how long will it take for the grafitti artists to spoil that?’ I’d like to figure out how to be a fly on the wall and help local law enforcement cut that crime to zero.

But that’s all negative. Today, I found hope. Hope that there are still good people out there. True neighbors who are willing to take the risk and trust others. As we were driving on Old Naches Highway, I had Kevin stop at a farm that had a sign hanging ~ Apples. Kevin and I pulled into the driveway and up to the barn. There, complete with an old fashioned hanging scale, empty boxes, a wooden wagon full of fruit, and hand lettered signs for the apples, pumpkings, and grapes, was a metal cash can. Right out there in public! Nothing special about the can, just an older decorated metal tin, small enough that dollar bills had to roll around the edges. Instructions said to weigh out your own fruit, bag or box it, and put your money in the tin. That’s it. Lovely, fresh, fall scented, fruits of the valley.

Hope. Found along on an old highway. Serve yourself. I trust you.

Grapes, apples, and pumpkin from Old Naches Highway farm

Grapes, apples, and pumpkin from Old Naches Highway farm

Ahhhh. God Bless Us Everyone.

Author: Angie

I live with my husband and two crazy kitties. I love having my grandchildren nearby so we can play and have messy fun. I spend oodles of time writing and reading. You can usually find me sipping tea or coffee, nibbling on dark chocolate, and contemplating what to plant next in the garden. If I am not playing, eating, drinking, or planting, then I am probably creating cards with rubber stamps or out snapping photos with my camera.

Leave a Reply

