Love, Laughter, and Life

Adventures With a Book Lover

Uhhhh…

Leave a comment

We think we\'re going to France! (official RLM\'s!)

Look-out!

Being eloquent and totally bilingual in French (I hope you recognize sacasm when you read it), I impressed someone who will probably never respect me…

As a part of our journey to live and work in France, we must secure a Visa (not the kind with variable interest rates and bonus points). I wasn’t worried, as we have a French consulate in Seattle, a mere 2 1/2 – 3 hour drive, depending on traffic. I hunted down the phone number and called the consulate, never considering that the people working there could possibly be French citizens (or at least totally bilingual). When the receptionist answered the phone, it was in total and speedy French! I was not prepared. Let me give you a direct quote on of my witty comeback.

“Uuhhhh,” I said.

Quite clever, non? I may as well have handed over my certificate of future French dork. Let’s see, au francais, ‘Je suis une idiot americain.’

I could hear her rolling her eyes (do they do that in France?) and mentally switching gears to help the pathetic petitioner on the line.

Nevertheless, she was quite helpful, and informed me that we had to travel in person to San Francisco to procure our Visa. I’m sure I detected a faint smile when she told me this. After 9-11, the French consulates were reduced to 6 worldwide, and they require in person visits for a biometric (is that the right word????) Visa. Meaning, we will have a microchip on our Visa that includes fingerprints and photo. Ahhhh, technology.

My honey and I are off to San Francisco, probably in August. We will entertain ideas of favorite tourist destinations and/or restaurants. No idea how long we will have to stay, or if we must just buzz back home. Buzz in this case means a day and a half drive one way.

Send us your ideas, s’il vous plait!

Author: Angie

I live with my husband and two crazy kitties. I love having my grandchildren nearby so we can play and have messy fun. I spend oodles of time writing and reading. You can usually find me sipping tea or coffee, nibbling on dark chocolate, and contemplating what to plant next in the garden. If I am not playing, eating, drinking, or planting, then I am probably creating cards with rubber stamps or out snapping photos with my camera.

Leave a Reply

