Love, Laughter, and Life

Adventures With a Book Lover

Hold on Tight

Leave a comment

Have you ever had a song stuck in your brain? I had that song “Hold on tight to your dreams” running through my brain (and out my mouth at weird moments) all day. I had no idea where it came from, but I just kept singing it.

It’s been one of those over busy days. In fact, the next 3 days are like that. I’m looking forward to Monday already! But tonight, I was finishing up some gifts for our Women’s tea, and making homemade chocolates (Grandma Hill’s recipe, yummers, sugar free NOT, maybe I’ll share it later). I decided to call our youngest to check on her. Well, if you know teenagers, they have other things to do besides talk to mom. She barely had time to talk with me – maybe 2 minutes max. Then she had to go and continue with her previous pursuits.

That was a signed, sealed, and delivered invitation to my own personal pity party. Put on the hat and get out the party horn. I had a little whine fest (notice I spelled WHINE, not WINE), thinking of my empty nest, and how the kids have grown up and don’t need me anymore. They are ready for their own life, sans maman (without mom). So what about poor old mom, who is on her way to white hair and dentures, if you ask Peeps. Ok, I confess, I even shed some woe-is-me tears. Just a few. Sheesh. Only the cat seems to need me these days. And the husband.

Then I heard that song. For real, not just in my head. “Hold on tight to your dreams, hold on tight to your dreams, yeah.” You know, it’s a car commercial for a popular brand that is stolen and stripped quite often in our valley. Smell the tires burning and hear the screeching brakes. It was like God put the brakes on my pity party and slapped me back to reality.

“Hello? Are you down there? You need to hold tight to your dreams. Hold tight to my dreams, the ones that I have for you, remember? It’s not over for you. It’s just going to be different. I have some great plans for you, exciting and new adventures. So put away the pity party hat and horn. And hold on tight to my dreams. It’s gonna be fantastic.”

I was reminded of something I recently heard at a Women of Faith conference. When God says Behold, He means be there (be present) and hold on tight, I’m gonna do something great! Hmmmm, behold is used a lot in the Big Book. I better pay attention to that one, be present (it’s way too easy to be somewhere but not be present) and hold on tight, ready for the ride.

So, party is over. Even though I could still sing “It’s my party, and I’ll cry if I want to…” I won’t (at least for now). I’ll just keep that car commercial song playing instead. “Hold on tight to His dreams, yeah!”

I still have a cat on my lap and a sleeping, snoring, drooling (oops, that’s me) husband. Ain’t life grand?

Author: Angie

I live with my husband and two crazy kitties. I love having my grandchildren nearby so we can play and have messy fun. I spend oodles of time writing and reading. You can usually find me sipping tea or coffee, nibbling on dark chocolate, and contemplating what to plant next in the garden. If I am not playing, eating, drinking, or planting, then I am probably creating cards with rubber stamps or out snapping photos with my camera.

Leave a Reply

